The School of Foreign Languages of the Mongolian University of Science and Technology was established in 1992 as the Center for Foreign Languages. The school name has been changed several times with the restructure of the university since its establishment, such as the School of Language Education, The Institute of Foreign Languages and the School of Foreign Languages.

In 2000, the first 25 students graduated as Engineer-Teacher in English-Russian and six students graduated successfully as Engineer-Teacher in Japanese-English. In 2001, students graduated from the Lyceum School with advanced foreign language training for the first time.

In 2002, the Mongolian University of Science and Technology (MUST) structured the professor’s system, and a professor’s team of Russian, English, Japanese Studies, and Comparative Linguistics was established at the School of Foreign Languages.

In 2004, the “Program to Improve the Quality and Effectiveness of Foreign Language Teaching” was approved by the order of the Rector of the Mongolian University of Science and Technology. The Mongolian University of Science and Technology signed a cooperation agreement with the Korea International Cooperation Agency (KOICA). In addition, a professor’s team of Korean studies was established.

A Translation Center was established at the School of Foreign Languages to meet many translation needs. In 2007, “Engineering Preparation Training”, in 2008 in “Technical Translation” (English, Korean, Japanese), and in 2009 in “Technical Translation” (Chinese) started their educational operations. The Master's Degree Program in Linguistics has been conducted since 2000 and has trained about 300 specialists. The average enrollment per academic year is 12-15 students. In 1999, the School of Foreign Languages started its Doctoral Program in Foreign Linguistics and more than 50 people graduated, of which more than 30 defended successfully their dissertations.

 The school offers two main types of training. These include:

  1. To provide content and methodological guidance for foreign language teaching at the branch schools of the university; to improve foreign language curriculum; to teach compulsory English, Russian and foreign languages to all students; to teach optional foreign languages such as Chinese, Japanese and Korean; and to monitor and evaluate training results for the foreign language courses.
  2. Training of specialists. For example, the Bachelor's Degree Program offers degrees in “Engineer-Translator”, “Computer-Foreign Language”, and “Technical Professional Translation”; in the Master's Degree Program, degrees are offered in “Foreign language Translation”, “Technical Professional Translation”, doctoral training in “Foreign Linguistics”, and application conducting research in the field of linguistics.

Currently, the School of Foreign Languages consists of the following:

• English Department

• Department of Applied Linguistics

• Department of Asian Studies

It has three main departments and branches including the Academy of English and the Russian Center.